FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Making a custom, am I doing this right? :3

View previous topic :: View next topic  
HurrDeeDurr  

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:47 pm    Post subject: Making a custom, am I doing this right? :3 Reply with quote

So let me give you a walkthrough of what I'm doing and you can tell me if I'm doing it right so far.

I got an instrumental version of Drake - Headlines http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9yNOhDeEck and I'm trying to make a karaoke version of it. I'm not going to charting any instruments because I'm just interesting in doing the vocals (to learn with). Also, I know the song has some pitched parts in it, but I'm just learning the program first so I'm going to be trying to do it all in talkies.

So:

1. I open Reaper.
2. File > Project Templates > RBN2 Template.
3. Insert > Media File > Headlines (Instrumental).wav
4. I get confused at this part. I drag the waveform to the very start of PART VOCALS and put it in the GAME VOCALS row. Like this:

When I double click PART VOCALS I get this:

Which is obviously where I can chart the vocals by clicking on shit, but I'm mystified as to how I do talkies here. There doesn't seem to be any option, unless it's "PHRASE MARKER", but that doesn't seem right.

And finally, is this how I do lyrics? By just double clicking down here and typing stuff? :P

(Just ignore the placements, lol, I was doing an example).

To be honest I'm just totally guessing at this point, so if I'm totally wrong just tell me :3
espher  

PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't see your images b/c your host is blocked by my filter here at the office. There's a doc on the RBHP spreadsheet that touches on some of the vocal stuff, which is doubly good with Creators being down, but I'll give you a tl;dr: