FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Wii > PS3 Guitar (Success) and Keyboard (Fail)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jas2o  





Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 3:01 pm    Post subject: Wii > PS3 Guitar (Success) and Keyboard (Fail) Reply with quote

I've just gotten my Wii RB1 guitar controller completely working on my PS3 and now I need my keyboard converted.

Uses at minimum an Arduino UNO with PS3 gamepad firmware.
I tried 3 different ways of sending the USB HID data from a Wii adapter:

1: C Linux program transposes USB HID data into MIDI messages and sends that to the Arduino with a MIDI shield.
2: C# Windows program sends the USB HID data to the Arduino UNO with a USB to Serial convertor.
3: Wii adapter is plugged into a USB host shield attached to the Arduino.

LUFA gamepad firmware based off this, this, and this.
Sketch based off one with the LUFA firmware and a PS3 controller USB host shield example.

I have one problem, while I have the HID descriptor from my Wii RB3 keyboard and all the base code to send all the keyboard data, I do not have the Vendor and Product IDs from a PS3 keyboard. Anyone with one willing to help me can type 'lsusb' in Linux or use the Device Manager in Windows to find these values.

Update: Thanks for your help, but the PS3 just crashes. I may look into this later. I'm using a MIDI Pro-Adapter for now.
BTW, if you bridge S1 on a Wii keyboard's USB adapter it becomes a PS3 keyboard adapter, BUT the Wii keyboard will not connect to it. I could not find anything similar on the keyboard.


Last edited by jas2o on Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:58 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosJuice  





Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't been able to connect my keyboard dongle to my PC, so I did this instead



Vendor ID: 040B
Product ID: 410A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message PSN Name: JosJuice Wii Friend Code: 5959909536341960
jas2o  





Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was expecting the Vendor to be 12BA (Sony), but I tried it anyway and I wasn't surprised to see it appear in RB3 as a standard/vocal controller.

I then checked my Wii Keyboard adapter's "Generic USB Hub" item in the Windows Device Manager and found this: USB\VID_040B&PID_410A&REV_0200

So you need to find the actual controller device... Would you please try again?

If you use Windows:
-Vista/7: Start -> 'Device Manager'
-XP: Right-click My Computer -> Properties -> Hardware tab-> Device Manager
-It'll be under Human Interface Devices, the keyboard should be something like a HID-compliant game controller
-Double-click the item, go to the Details tab, look in 'Hardware Ids'.

If you use Linux, type 'lsusb' in a terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JosJuice  





Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 55
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried doing it in Windows this time. Here's the data:

HID\Vid_12ba&Pid_2330&Rev_0005
HID\Vid_12ba&Pid_2330
HID_DEVICE_SYSTEM_GAME
HID_DEVICE_UP:0001_U:0005
HID_DEVICE

I'm not sure if I got it right, so please tell me if it doesn't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message PSN Name: JosJuice Wii Friend Code: 5959909536341960
jas2o  





Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2011 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks better, thanks so much.

I must have failed last night's 3 AM quick Arduino firmware/sketch mods because no keys player is appearing and it's not triggering the vocal controller. That's something I noticed it does when the guitar VID/PID was right but something in the firmware was broken, making RB3 'lock out' the device.

Edit 1: When I put the Wii VID/PID in it works sort of fine on the Wii (needs to be plugged in twice). The PS3 just keeps crashing. I'll have to keep messing with it.

Edit 2: The RB3 PS3 must be expecting something guitars and drums don't normally do like a report, something I can't be bothered figuring out. I'll just buy a MIDI Pro-Adapter if I can get one into Australia.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kim666  





Joined: 07 Jul 2011
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 10:41 am    Post subject: Re: Wii > PS3 Guitar (Success) and Keyboard (Fail) Reply with quote

jas2o wrote:
BTW, if you bridge S1 on a Wii keyboard's USB adapter it becomes a PS3 keyboard adapter, BUT the Wii keyboard will not connect to it. I could not find anything similar on the keyboard.


Great finding! Did you also take a look at the Midi Pro Adapter hardware? It would be nice to get a Wii Midi Pro Adapter on a Ps3 working or vice versa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jas2o  





Joined: 27 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If someone ever does find out how to make the Wii keyboard connect to a "PS3" adapter, I would very much like to know.
I looked on my PS3 Mustang adapter and it has S1 joined.

If someone figures out what message you need to send to a Mustang to receive fret/string data, that would be interesting to know.
I plugged my PS3 mustang into my Wii with RB3 modded to accept any unknown controller as a pro-guitar and it wasn't able to sense frets or strings (it skips a few tests when I make it do this, that could be why).
Unless Wii adapters send this data without being told to? I thought I noticed my PS3 MIDI Pro-Adapter in keyboard mode didn't send the same HID messages as my Wii Keyboard adapter. Maybe I'm crazy.

I read on the Rock Band Forums (post #82) that the 3 MIDI Pro-adapters have different arrangements of 2 jumpers (unscrew the back cover and you should see it at the bottom). 360 has both, PS3 has one (so you can make it Xbox by bridging the other - which I have done but not tested on a console), and the Wii is unknown (either the other one, or none).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
infnorm  





Joined: 12 Apr 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:37 am    Post subject: Making MIDI Pro Adaptor Console Switchable Reply with quote

Based on that post I was able to modify my Wii MIDI Pro Adaptor to be switchable by adding a bank of DIP switches. I've had success using it with a PS3 and Wii, but the XBox I tried it with does not recognize it, so it is partially useful! See my post over at
http://docsrockbandmods.net/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4707
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum





Copyright © 2006-2024 ScoreHero, LLC
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy


Powered by phpBB