FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
New to drumming, need advice on what to work on
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Technique, Style, and Gameplay -> Drums
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chaosSyn  

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2010 11:24 am    Post subject: New to drumming, need advice on what to work on Reply with quote

EDITED 1/6/2011:

I'd like to start by thanking everyone who's willing to read this and give me a hand.

I started playing guitar hero right after guitar hero 2 came out but i grew bored of the guitar a while back and decided to recently pick up the drums. So i do have some experience with GH/RB but not much with drums so please excuse any noob questions i ask.

Ok so i've been searching on the forums for a while now and I came across this list that seemed pretty helpful with things to work on and what songs to play to do so, so can anyone vouch for whats said?

Quote:
From an old thread, someone had a list of songs that use different skills. I have it saved on my computer, but can't remember who came up with it and I can't claim credit for it. But here is a list of songs to play to develop different skills, from the easiest song to the hardest in each skill:

-Basic kick training:
New Kid in School
Learn to Fly
Mississippi Queen
Maps
We Got the Beat
Drain You

-Basic speed and endurance training:
Alabama Getaway
Alex Chilton
Blitzkrieg Bop
Electric Version
Let There Be Rock
Uncontrollable Urge
Welcome to the Neighborhood
Bad Reputation
Ramblin' Man (not as fast as the ones above but the pattern makes it more difficult)
I Can See For Miles (Quazifuji)

-Basic natural sticking:
Pretend We're Dead
De-Luxe
The Hand That Feeds
Orange Crush
Crazy Train (Quazifuji)
The Killing Moon (Quazifuji)
Whip It (Quazifuji)