FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Expert Pro Keys Playing Guide

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Technique, Style, and Gameplay -> Keys
View previous topic :: View next topic  
malictus  

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:45 am    Post subject: Expert Pro Keys Playing Guide Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I'm a HUGE FAN of Pro Keys mode, and I'd like to see more people getting into it. I have seen a number of threads about the difficulties of Pro Keys mode, so I thought I'd create a song-by-song guide to surviving Expert Pro Keys mode. I'll go tier by tier and try provide a general difficulty guide, as well as tips for conquering the chart.

NOTE: I am a musician, and I might occasionally use some music terms, especially things like note names (C#, Bb, etc.) I'll try to use these kinds of things rarely, so if you are confused by this just ignore those comments. Pro Keys mode can be enjoyed by anyone, regardless of musical background.

First off, a few general tips:

Use the Trainer - If you are new to playing keys, I highly recommend using the 'Learn an Instrument' trainer. Even if you are an experienced keyboardist, I still recommend using Training Mode for learning new songs -- it's the best way to target the problem areas quickly and easily.

Don't strap it on - For regular keys mode, using the keyboard as a 'keytar' is just fine, but forget using it that way to play real keyboard parts. I don't have a keyboard stand, but I have no problem just setting the keyboard on a tray in front of me.

Gilssandos are easier than you think - Glissandos are the quickly ascending or descending notes that show up in certain songs. The good news is that the game engine is rather lenient with them. Basically you need to:
- Start on the right note.
- Go the right direction.