FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
"Drum roll" - a drummer's rant
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ScoreHero Forum Index -> Technique, Style, and Gameplay -> Drums
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GurnKiller  

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:08 am    Post subject: "Drum roll" - a drummer's rant Reply with quote

Let me preface this post by saying I do not mean to come across as elitist in any way. I'm really a nice guy - ask Draktyr, Defiler, or TheBigBB. If I offend anyone or come off as condescending, I'm sincerely sorry, but I need to get this off my chest. I've been playing drums for 12 years, have a college degree in music performance (percussion), and have played in numerous rock/punk bands, jazz bands, marching bands, concert bands, and orchestras, and therefore consider myself very well educated in the area of drums and percussion. I've also taught many students on drumset, in marching bands, and on other percussion instruments.

Mods, if this post gets too "flame"y or you see it as unfit to be on these forums, than feel free to remove it. However, this is a forum for Technique, which I feel this belongs in.

/rant on

On these forums, the word "drum roll" seems to be thrown around pretty loosely. The common usage of the word here seems to be the patterns of fast notes, such as in the middle of Aerosmith's "Train Kept A-Rollin" or most of all of Iron Maiden's "Run to the Hills".

A drum roll, as commonly used in the drum/percussion world, refers to a closed roll, or "buzz" roll. Taken from the Wikipedia article "drum roll":
Quote: