FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Question about the Wiki software

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SpikeX  

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:59 am    Post subject: Question about the Wiki software Reply with quote

I'm really not one to criticize, and I realize you put a LOT (read: many) of hours into getting this online (I'm a web developer, I know.), but I was just wondering what your reasoning was for using this particular wiki software. I personally would have gone with MediaWiki (the stuff that powers Wikipedia), but you obviously didn't. So what made you pick this instead? Are there benefits or features you liked?

Again, not criticizing you, just wondering why you picked this instead of other software.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I know that MediaWiki is much more well-known, primarilly because of Wikipedia and due to that it would seem like a more logical choice. However, WikkaWiki allows a ton of flexibility with dynamic content and page permissions that were very valuable towards my plans and I have greatly utilized.